Announcing a cool new thing –

There is inevitably going to be a certain amount of waiting around involved in this project. Those who follow it will wait for each new “raw” chapter to be posted, for the Teen Advisory Panel commentary, for my own commentary, for me to do the editing and rewriting work necessary to transform the “raw” into the “New! Improved!” versions, for the posting of that new version, for the commentary to THAT, and then for the next new chapter… we’ve all got things in our own lives, my Teen Council and myself, which could delay any one of those things through circumstances beyond our own control. In the meantime, those of you who are on the receiving end of things might wind up checking back here while we’re off doing the necessary background work,  and finding nothing new and exciting…

Well, here’s something to keep you coming back here and keeping tabs on what’s happening.

We ALL started somewhere. Every author who’s ever been published has begun by writing down a First Word at some time or another. Some of those early efforts make us cringe now – others may have stood the test of time – many lie in between – but what they all have in common is that they were a beginning for us, a point at which we, the writers, stepped onto the Writing Path and then followed it ever since.

I’ve chosen to reveal my own “origins” here, warts and all, and you, the audience, are witness to how I am working to transform my own version of First Words – using all the knowledge and experience gained by faithfully following that Writing Path –  into something greater and better than what it originally was. But there are many stories out there, many writers, many other “origins” – and I thought that it might be interesting to explore those beginnings, what they have in common, how they are different from one another. To this end, I am launching a series of guest blog posts from writers whose work I’ve liked and admired myself, many of whom I am privileged to call friend. You will find these posts in the blog under the group title ORIGINS, and we kick off tomorrow, while the Teen Council are still mulling over the new Chapter 1 and coping with going back to school, with an inaugural Origins guest blog post by bestselling author Steven Barnes.

Watch this space, learn, and enjoy!

One Comment to “Announcing a cool new thing –”

  1. Fantastic blog! I actually love how it is easy on my eyes as well as the information are well written. I am wondering how I can be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

